Nash, Kane, O’Ree, 2020-2021 promotion title at the Canadian Sports Hall of Fame


On Wednesday, the Canadian Sports Hall of Fame announced 11 new inductees.

As the Hall celebrates its 65th anniversary, the 2020-2021 class includes six athletes: Steve Nash, Sonja Gaudet, Diane Jones Konihowski, Eric Lamaze (and the horse Hickstead), John “Jackie” Barrett and Lorie Kane; as well as five manufacturers: Willie O’Ree, Sheldon Kennedy, Judy Kent, Ross Powless and Duncan Campbell.

All inductees will also receive the Sports Awards – Canada’s highest sporting distinction.

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, the induction event has been postponed to 2021, when the combined class will be officially celebrated. The Calgary-based museum announced last month that it had closed for the rest of 2020 due to concerns related to COVID-19.

“In these uncertain times, we are delighted to be able to share some good news and to have this remarkable group of people to be inducted into the Canadian Sports Hall of Fame next year,” Cheryl Bernard, President and Chief Executive Officer the leadership of Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame, said in a press release. “We have never been so proud of our sporting history, our sporting champions and their community spirit, and we formally recognize these athletes and builders for living and sharing sporting values ​​- the common values ​​of Canada; respect, equality, fairness and openness. We look forward to bringing Canada together in 2021 to celebrate this exceptional class when we are inducted and awarded the Order of Sport for its contribution beyond sport to our country. “

NBA eight-star Steve Nash has brought essential Canadian content to the basketball field during his 19-year professional career with the Phoenix Suns, Dallas Mavericks and Los Angeles Lakers. First passer became the first Canadian to win the NBA MVP in 2004-05 (he won it again the following season) and was inducted into the Basketball Hall of Fame in 2018 .

Hockey Hall of Fame (2018 promotion) Willie O’Ree entered hockey history in January 1958 when he made his debut with the Boston Bruins and became the first black player in the NHL. His leadership and involvement in many diversity initiatives at all levels of the game paved the way for many young people from minority backgrounds to thrive in the game.

Sonja Gaudet helped put wheelchair curling on the sports map and was recognized with a place at the Canadian Curling Hall of Fame (2013) and the B.C. Sports Hall of Fame (2020). Now retired, the triple Paralympic gold medalist serves as an alumni ambassador to the Canadian Paralympic Committee and helps make the sport more accessible to everyone.

Lorie Kane has represented Canada on the golf course for more than two decades on the international circuit and on the LPGA circuit. Kane was twice named Canadian female athlete of the year and received the Order of Canada in 2006 in recognition of her achievements in women’s golf while setting the stage for others.

Sheldon Kennedy, an NHL retiree, spent a large part of his life defending vulnerable athletes and victims of sexual abuse after he introduced himself as a victim of sexual abuse in 1996. his involvement in a number of initiatives and organizations – including with the International Olympic Committee, the NHLPA addiction program, the Calgary Child Advocacy Center and his own business, the Respect Group – Kennedy, strive to make the sport community safer and healthier for everyone.

Ross Powless is post-humbly recognized for his impact on lacrosse and his leadership as an ambassador for Indigenous peoples in the sport community. His passion and talent for the sport can be seen in the many athletes he has coached, including his son, Gaylord Powless – also a member of the Canadian Sports Hall of Fame (2017 promotion).

Widely regarded as one of the most powerful women in the Canadian sport landscape, Judy Kent has been a strong advocate for other women, people with physical disabilities and Aboriginal athletes in sport and in leadership roles throughout his long career at the Commonwealth Games.

John “Jackie” Barrett’s career as a powerlifter has seen him win 13 gold medals in four appearances at the Special Olympics World Summer Games. Born with autism, Barrett was twice named Male Athlete of the Year by Special Olympics Canada, received the Dr. Frank Hayden Lifetime Achievement award from Special Olympics Canada, and in 2015 became the first special Olympian to compete for the Lou Marsh Prize. .

A great pair in the world of horse riding, Eric Lamaze and the horse Hickstead won all the grand titles of the World Grand Prix between 2007 and 2011 and reached the peak of their domination at the 2008 Olympic Games when they won individual show jumping gold and helped propel the team. From Canada to money. Hickstead died suddenly in 2011, but is recognized annually with the Equestrian Canada Hickstead Trophy for Horse of the Year, created in 2012.

Duncan Campbell was instrumental in bringing wheelchair rugby to the world of sport as an athlete, defender and team leader. Now director of development for Wheelchair Rugby Canada, Campbell has also received the International Paralympic Order – the highest honor in para-sports.

Diane Jones Konihowski has been a driving force in Canadian sport for over 45 years, holding various positions on the Canadian Olympic Committee, the Coaching Association of Canada and KidSport, among other organizations. The former Olympic pentathlete and athletic competitor was recognized by the Order of Canada in 1978.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here