Jamie Carragher chooses his last Champions League XI in the last “Carra challenge”


Jamie Carragher chose his final Champions League XI as part of his latest “Carra Challenge” – where the selection faces a number of restrictions.

This time around, the Liverpool legend chose his ultimate Champions League team of players who have won the competition since the 1992/93 season – when the European Cup officially became the Champions League.

However, the rules make it much more complicated than just choosing the best programming.

This time, they stipulate that only one player from each winning club can be chosen.

In addition, any nationality can only be represented once – even if a player may have played for more than one winning team.

Since 13 clubs have won the first club competition in Europe since the 1992/93 season, two clubs were represented as a substitute and manager in the Carragher caps, which he announced on Twitter.

Carragher lifted the Champions League with Liverpool in 2005

The 13 clubs that have won the Champions League are: Marseille, AC Milan, Ajax, Juventus, Borussia Dortmund, Real Madrid, Man Utd, Bayern Munich, Porto, Liverpool, Barcelona, ​​Inter Milan and Chelsea.

Here are Carragher’s selections…

In the goal, Carragher gave the gloves to Chelsea and the great Czech Petr Cech, who won the Champions League in 2012.

In defense, Borussia Dortmund and German legend Jurgen Kohler have teamed up with former Real Madrid and Spain defender Fernando Hierro with central defender.

Messi and Alaba featured in Carragher team

The rear seats were allocated to the Italian Moreno Torricelli and the Austrian David Alaba, who respectively won the competition with Juventus and Bayern Munich.

A star midfielder included Liverpool and the legend of England Steven Gerrard – with whom Carragher won the competition on a miraculous night in Istanbul in 2005. The other slots of the central midfielder were given to Ajax and in the Netherlands Clarence Seerdorf and Marseille and the French Didier Deschamps.

Before the midfielder trio, AC Milan and Brazil icon Kaka were given an advanced role.

Finally, Cameroonian Samuel Eto’o, who won the Champions League with Inter Milan in 2010, teamed up with Argentinian superstar Lionel Messi, who has won the competition four times with Barcelona.

In the dugout, Carragher also added the former man from Portugal and Porto Deco and included Manchester United legend Sir Alex Ferguson as manager to ensure that all 13 teams were represented.

Read more

Mirror the best football stories

Carragher’s XI

Petr cech (Chelsea and Czech Republic);

Moreno Torricelli (Juventus and Italy)

Jurgen Kohler (Dortmund and Germany)

FernandoYesterday (Real Madrid and Spain)

David Alaba (Bayern Munich and Austria);

Steven Gerrard (Liverpool and England)

Didier Deschamps (Marseille and France)

Clarence Seedorf (Ajax and Netherlands)

Kaka (AC Milan and Brazil)

Samuel Eto’o (Inter Milan and Cameroon)

Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina)

Under: Deco (Porto and Portugal)

Director: Sir Alex Ferguson (Manchester United and Scotland)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here