Greece bans British tourists in first phase of international travel


The Greek Ministry of Tourism announced that as of June 15, people from 29 countries will be allowed to enter Greece by direct flights to Athens and the city of Thessaloniki in the north of the country.

The list of people eligible to enter the country will be expanded on July 1, but does not yet include the United Kingdom.

The 29 countries currently include: Albania, Australia, Austria, Bulgaria, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Israel, Japan, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, New Zealand , North Macedonia, Norway, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea and Switzerland.

This contradicts what Minister of Tourism Harry Theocharis, speaking to Telegraph Travel earlier this month, suggested. He said that Greece would do “everything in its power” to ensure that the British were among the first international sun seekers to return.

Visitors arriving in Greece may still be screened for coronaviruses. Security measures are also in place nationwide with capacity limits in hotels and resorts, and each hotel must have a designated doctor.

Greece has so far had far fewer cases of coronavirus than the United Kingdom, with 2,906 confirmed cases and 175 deaths. The Greek islands, which rely heavily on tourism, have not had any confirmed cases.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here