France agrees to reopen borders with Germany before June 15


The French Minister of the Interior has agreed with his German counterpart, the Minister of the Interior Horst Seehofer, to reopen the common borders by June 15, restrictions which have been put in place in order to contain the flow of COVID-19.

Ministers discussed removing border traffic restrictions agreed to maintain traffic restrictions until June 15, a French government press release said, reports

On June 15, the two ministers, anxious to facilitate the daily life of border crossers, agreed on the principle of continuing the coordinated and gradual opening of border crossing points. The permanent static checks carried out so far by French and German law enforcement will gradually give way to dynamic and targeted checks, to ensure the flow of traffic without weakening the restrictions which will remain in force“, Indicates the press release.

In addition, the French authorities note that the new exemptions, already implemented in Germany, also come into force for entry into French territory. The documentation required to cross the Franco-German border will be simplified, with the availability in the coming days of a single Franco-German certificate.

German authorities announced yesterday that after several discussions with neighboring countries and the federal states concerned, Federal Minister Seehofer had decided to gradually start easing border measures to contain the pandemic.

While border controls with France, Austria and Switzerland and airside borders with Italy and Spain will remain in place until June 15, border controls with Luxembourg will end on May 15 .

At the same time, the government is also ready to abolish border controls with Denmark; however, a date on which this will occur will be set with Denmark, the Danish government carrying out ongoing consultations with its neighboring countries.

Immediately after Germany, Switzerland also announced that it would reopen its common borders with Germany, Austria and France on the same date if the epidemiological situation permitted. The decision was made after discussions with the interior ministers of these three countries and Federal Councilor Karin Keller-Sutter.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here