England coaching team includes 14 uncapped players but no Hales | sport


England has appointed an exceptional training group of 55 men, with a host of new and returning faces joining the core team.

Fourteen uncapped county game players have been invited to return to work under the direction of the English and Welsh Cricket Council: Dan Lawrence, James Bracey, Phil Salt, Henry Brookes, Brydon Carse, Amar Virdi, Laurie Evans, Will Jacks, Ollie Robinson, Richard Gleeson, Sam Hain, Tom Helm, Tom Kohler-Cadmore and Jamie Overton.

There are also returns for Pat Brown, Ben Duckett, Liam Livingstone, David Willey and Reece Topley, but there is no place for World Cup winner Liam Plunkett or Alex Hales.

The larger group will not be brought together in one place, individual sessions at county sites being the only approved form of training and they do not represent an official team from England. Format-specific teams will be named later.

ECB Performance Director Mo Bobat, who joined the selectors and coach Chris Silverwood to compile the list, said: “It is really nice to be able to bring players back to the team. training and a huge amount of work has been done by many to get us here.

“The pool of players will provide selectors with good options when it comes to selecting teams in different formats further, as we move closer to our goal of playing international cricket this summer.

Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), James Anderson (Lancashire), Jofra Archer (Sussex), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Tom Banton (Somerset), Dom Bess (Somerset), Sam Billings (Kent), James Bracey (Gloucestershire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Henry Brookes (Warwickshire), Pat Brown (Worcestershire), Rory Burns (Surrey), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Brydon Carse (Durham), Mason Crane (Hampshire), Zak Crawley (Kent), Sam Curran (Surrey )), Tom Curran (Surrey), Liam Dawson (Hampshire), Joe Denly (Kent), Ben Duckett (Nottinghamshire), Laurie Evans (Sussex), Ben Foakes (Surrey), Richard Gleeson (Lancashire), Lewis Gregory (Somerset) , Sam Hain (Warwickshire), Tom Helm (Middlesex), Will Jacks (Surrey), Keaton Jennings (Lancashire), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Tom Kohler-Cadmore (Yorkshire), Dan Lawrence (Essex), Jack Leach (Somerset) , Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Dawid Malan (Yorkshire), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Craig Overton (Somerset), Jamie Overton (Somerset), Matt Parkinso n (Lancashire), Ollie Pope (Surrey), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Ollie Robinson (Sussex), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Phil Salt (Sussex), Dom Sibley (Warwickshire), Ben Stokes ( Durham), Olly Stone (Warwickshire), Reece Topley (Surrey), James Vince (Hampshire), Amar Virdi (Surrey), David Willey (Yorkshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Mark Wood (Durham).

“We will have to continue to work closely with our medical team and the government to ensure that our return to training and play activities is in line with best practice.

“We are also very grateful for the positive and collaborative response from our colleagues in the county who are doing an excellent job in facilitating the coaching and support of players. The fact that we can use our network to support the national effort shows the strength of our system. “


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here