Canadian provinces introduce new coronavirus travel regulations to limit domestic travel


Canadians have always taken unimpeded interprovincial travel for granted, but this is starting to change in light of the continued spread of the coronavirus. In order to slow the growth of the pandemic, many provincial governments have started to limit provincial domestic travel. Some provinces have even taken extreme measures to impose self-quarantines or severely restrict travel, even for Canadian travelers. Here is an overview of what each province and territory is doing in Canada to limit internal travel.


On Wednesday April 1, the Quebec government effectively divided the Canadian capital region by placing checkpoints at the border between Ottawa, Ontario and Gatineau, Quebec. The Quebec government says that checkpoints are intended to prevent non-essential travel to the province. According to a press release from the Gatineau police service “in order to reduce the spread of COVID-19, officers from the Ville de Gatineau Police Service (SPVG) are deployed at strategic entry points to limit travel to essential purposes ”.

At checkpoints, police say they will “assess on a case-by-case basis whether travel is essential or not, for example commuting to work if telework is not an option; for medical appointments or treatment; or for humanitarian reasons. “

The press release also notes that fines will be imposed on those who do not obey: “Although the SPVG prefers an approach based on community persuasion, its officers are ready to turn to more coercive measures with people who refuse to cooperate . Fines can be imposed on people who refuse to cooperate. Under the Public Health Act, the police have the option of imposing fines ranging from $ 1,000 to $ 6,000. The police retain their usual powers, and charges laid during an intervention will have the same legal consequences (that is, a criminal offense). For more information, visit the website here.

To block all non-essential travel in the province, the Quebec government has also set up checkpoints on the main roads leading to more remote regions of Quebec, as well as to the United States. border.


Ontario has not yet imposed any interprovincial travel restrictions. For more information, visit the Government of Ontario website.


Manitoba advises all domestic travelers entering the province to isolate themselves for 14 days. The province is also establishing checkpoints on major highways and airports to provide advice on COVID-19 to travelers. Learn more here and here.


Currently, the province has no restrictions on domestic travel. The government recommends that people watch for symptoms themselves if they have traveled outside of Saskatchewan, but to Canada. More information here and here.


No inter-provincial domestic travel restrictions. More info here.

British Columbia

No inter-provincial domestic travel restrictions. More info here.


All travelers entering the territory must self-quarantine. According to the website, “all visitors to the territory must self-isolate for 14 days. This includes anyone returning home from other provinces and territories by road or plane, as well as Yukoners returning home by road from Alaska. We are putting in place mechanisms to monitor and guarantee passenger self-isolation. The Yukon also advises against non-essential travel. For more information, visit this site.

Northwest Territories

All movement within the territory of non-residents is now prohibited with a few exceptions (such as those transporting essential goods and workers in essential services). More information is available on the website.


All passenger flights to and from Nunavik, as well as intercommunity flights, were grounded. According to the press release, “the only flights authorized are charters carrying cargo (including medical supplies and Canada Post), patients traveling for medical appointments, health care workers and other essential workers such as than the police. ” More information is available here (see April 2 press release) and here.

Prince Edward Island

The provincial website says that “anyone entering Prince Edward Island must be isolated for 14 days after all travel outside the province, including to Canada and the United States.” Exceptions include essential service workers and flight crews. Learn more here and here.

Newfoundland and Labrador

All travelers entering the province must isolate themselves for 14 days. More information here.

New Scotland

Anyone entering Nova Scotia must be isolated for 14 days. Find out more details here and here.

New Brunswick

As of March 15, 2020, everyone entering the province (with a few exceptions such as essential workers) must be isolated for 14 days. More information is available here and here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here